Skip Navigation

Motlow State Recognizes Faculty Excellence

July 3, 2024

Motlow State congratulates the 2024 finalists for the Faculty and Adjunct Faculty Excellence Awards. This year’s candidates embody Motlow’s mission of academic and student success by making a difference both on campus and in the surrounding communities.

Faculty & Adjunct Faculty Excellence Finalists

A call for submissions was released to all students, faculty, and staff during the spring semester. Those who accepted their nominations were asked to submit information regarding their professional activities and development, instructional activities, non-instructional college services, and community service. A nomination committee comprised of faculty from each department and two students reviewed the nominees’ portfolios and selected which nominees would advance to the next round. The selection committee is comprised of the College’s President, the Executive Vice President for Academic Affairs, a previous award winner, a Student Government Association representative, and members of the Motlow College Foundation. This committee also reviews student evaluations to see how each instructor has excelled in serving Motlow’s student body.

This year’s candidates include:

Faculty Nominees

  • Dr. Phyllis Adams – Professor of Speech and Theatre
  • Kristin Bridge – Associate Professor of Biology
  • Jenna Caviezel – Director of Tutoring Services and the Honors 
    • Program; Associate Professor of English
  • Dr. Lori Fisher-Bradshaw – Associate Professor of Nursing
  • Dr. Patrick Murphy – Associate Professor of Physics
  • Michael Peveto – Paramedic Coordinator; Assistant Professor of
  • Paramedic/EMS
  • Michael Oliver – Assistant Professor of Mechatronics
  • Liala Syler – Assistant Professor of Sociology

Adjunct Faculty Nominees

  • Katie Bevels – Education
  • Tracy Boatman – Introduction to College Success
  • Lynda King – Nursing 
  • Lisa Maurer – Music 
  • Dr. Molly Rowland – Business

Nomination requires that prospective candidates must not have won the award within the past five years. Full-time faculty cannot be within their first year of teaching at Motlow, and adjunct faculty must have completed at least four semesters of employment at the College. All nominees must exhibit an exemplary work ethic and reflect the high level of instructional quality and credibility essential in working in higher education.

According to Dr. Meagan McManus, head of the Faculty Excellence Executive Award Commitee, “Each year, in coordination with the Motlow College Foundation, the College recognizes faculty and adjunct faculty who excel in the areas of professional activities and development, instructional activities and improvements, non-instructional service to the College, and community service. These individuals are recognized by students and their peers for their exceptional work, and their dedication deserves to be honored by the institution. The winners, finalists, and nominees represent Motlow’s success and dedication to our students and community, and we look forward to celebrating them every year.”

The winners of both categories will be announced at the Fall Convocation in August. The funding for this recognition program is made possible by contributions from the Motlow College Foundation.

Scroll to top